March 26, 2023


Denehan leads Stevens by a point after round two of the season, in what is shaping to be an epic battle for the championship.
Jake Denehan secured his first race win of the season at the GPVWC Superleague Bahrain Grand Prix.

The EDGE driver finished ahead of race one winner Tom Stevens as the championship picture begins to shape up.

In a race full of drama, Denehan fought his way past pole-sitter Luke Maguire after the THR driver made a mistake at turn 11 on lap three - compounding the error by losing his front wing at the same corner two laps later.

Nocturne's Adam Maguire made his way to the front before the first round of stops and stayed there as the pack shuffled, with Denehan remaining in second.

But when Maguire pitted for a second time, Denehan used the overcut to full effect and was left to chase down the one-stopping Stevens, who was powerless to defend in the closing stages.

Tomasz Wach rounded out the podium having battled his way from ninth on the grid for RSR, finishing ahead of Jukkapekka Lalu who rose from 11th.

Jan Granqvist, Daniel Stepkowski, Phillip Puschke, David Fidock, Sandeep Singh and Zsolt Szucs completed the top 10.

Owen McGaugie held onto his championship lead in Superlights despite losing out to Giuseppe Ragusa in Bahrain.

The Italian was second on the grid behind the Road2Formula driver, but Ragusa was able to reverse the positions in the race to give TX3 its first win in only its second Superlights start.

The night was made even better for the outfit with Fabrizio Gobbi following up his podium in race one with third this time around to keep tabs with McGaugie in the standings.

Szymon Frelik asserted himself at the top of the Formula Sprint 1 standings with a third victory from three races in the Bahrain feature, with rival Thomas Harvey second and Maciej Hyla third.

The TOP driver followed up with seventh in the sprint, which was won by Spaniard Carlos Martin in only his second GPVWC event. The podium was completed by Polish duo Patryk Roszak and Mateusz Ziubinski.

Luke Mitchell secured a second and 15th in the two FS2 races to hold onto his championship lead, but it was Roy Seifert and Florian Haase who ensured there were two German winners on the evening.

Massimiliano Ribolli, Chris Butcher and Tom Eley joined the trio on the podium, with race one winner Seifert just four points behind Mitchell in the standings.